I realized the best way to feel how to be a Muslim is to live like them,” Cassidy said Herrington, a coed, non-Muslims and newspaper reporters in the Kentucky Kernel, a media that is managed by students at the University of Kentucky, USA.

Her desire to know more closely and understand life as a Muslim that is what prompted him to try to “become a Muslim” by wearing a headscarf during a full moon.

“For a month I wear a headscarf, which is shown struggling with the perception of foreigners, friends and even my own family,” said Herrington.

“Because of perceptions that, I struggled when I have to write it. I covered a very personal experience, but I hope to share on what I see, will open the room a more open dialogue and critical,” he continued,

Initially, Herrington worried about the reaction of the Muslim community when he saw that non-Muslims to wear headscarves. For that, he felt compelled to get approval from the Muslim community before the start wearing the hijab.

September 16, Herrington went to an organization of Muslim Student Association (MSA) and introduced himself. He admitted very nervous when I first came to office. There he met with Heba Sulaeiman, the student who served as President of the MSA, which warmly welcome after hearing the plans and intentions Herrington to that place.

“The idea is amazing,” said Herrington mimicked Suleiman response.

Herrington felt the tension and anxiety that she felt began to melt. He said “Assalaam” when introducing himself in the presence of several members of MSA and he heard a dozen people who attended responded by saying “wa’alaikumsalam.”

When the MSA will leave office, some Muslim teens approached him. “I’ll never forget one of them says ‘this gives me hope’, while another teenager who said ‘I’m Muslim, and I can not even do that’,” said Herrington.

He was not too responded saying teenagers had until then he felt that the “project” does not just cover up her hair with a veil, but she will represent a community and a religion. “Consequently, I have to really keep my behavior while wearing the hijab,” said Herrington.

Two weeks after coming to the MSA, he met again with Heba Suleiman and his friend, Leanna who taught him to wear a headscarf. “While this is my own initiative, I feel not alone and this is very helpful when I feel the need to remove the hijab and stop wearing the hijab this project,” said Herrington.

“I live everyday life as usual. I was cycling and feel the sensation of a breeze to slip on the sidelines that I wear hijab. I walked in front of a shop window and saw a cursory reflection on the face of a stranger until I get used to and realize that the reflection faces It is my own strange, “Herrington said his experience after wearing the hijab.

“Wearing the hijab became my routine every morning. One day, went biking to college, and when it came to realized that I forgot to wear the hijab,” she said sambilnya smile.

Herrington acknowledged head sometimes makes him uncomfortable. When shopping at a grocery store, he felt people notice him. He did not know whether it was just feeling it, but he felt alienated from people he knew closely. “A friend in college, the professors and friends during high school did not say anything about my hijab, and it hurts. Sometimes, a gap every time we talked,” said Herrington.

One time, he ate at a Middle Eastern restaurant King Tut. The restaurant owner named Ashraf Yusuf praised the project head and asked if he would continue wearing the veil after the project is completed. Herrington just nodded and smiled.

“A non-Muslims who wear the hijab, wearing only a headscarf,” said Joseph.

Herrington had also sent an email from someone. When he opened the email contains an audio file, a voice reading prayers from Makkah, but suddenly heard gunshots and then three times the U.S. national anthem sound.

Herrington rebuked the people who sent the email and that person says that he was just kidding. Herrington began to understand that indeed there is a problem phobia and intolerance towards Islam and Muslims.

“Email is proof that many people are not accurate view of Islam,” he added.

A month full of wearing the hijab, during October yesterday, providing new understanding to Herrington that there is nothing to fear with the existence of the Muslim community. “In fact, many U.S. troops are Muslims, who come to defend this country. What you see or you hear from the media about Islam, could be wrong. If you want the truth, hang out with Muslims,” he said.

For now, Herrington probably back off her hijab, he also apologized to the people who feel deceived by identintasnya. But with his experience veiled, may Allah swt bestowed guidance and light of Islam for Herrington. (Ln / KK)

source: eramuslim.com